The Power of Priorities Part 1

Before the End of the World

This article is quite simply about the end of the World. Well, how can you live your success if it's the end of the world? How does that work? Let's figure this out. Okay, stay with me now. It's actually meant to be positive and motivational.

The Power of Priorities Before the End of the World is equivalent to the expression, “what is your bucket list?” Okay, you know what that means. If you don't, it's a cousin to a New Year's Resolutions. This resolution is when you make a declaration or promise to do x, y and z sometime in the New Year. An example includes, I want to travel around the world in multiple continents by next year. However, a bucket list takes it to another level, extreme in fact. A bucket list declaration is before I die, I want to save up money to buy myself a new car. It could be considered a small goal or a big lifetime achievement, either way. But my point is it's not just goal setting, that's not it, because you can write goals on a piece of paper and say I want to do this pr that. But I'm talking more about a sense of moving into that joyful state of existence here on this earth.

Life goes by quickly and it's actually a call to action. A sense of urgency to live life to the fullest. I wrote a book called Slaying Your Dragons Live the Life you Always Wanted. Well, you need to do it, live life now not put if off. I am not advocating to live foolishly, like suddenly quitting your job or school without a backup plan. You should plan, plan and use the wisdom you possess.

I experienced this with myself. I was living Soley for the future but not the present. Life was passing me by for many years. Working and grinding, grinding and working. Fun eluded me. It’s nothing inherently wrong with ensuring you have a better tomorrow. Now, I did have enjoyable times for sure. I just didn’t pick off many of the highest or most meaningful goals. The most challenging part of this reasoning is we don’t know how long we will live. What if you put off whatever goal or wish too long and then you don’t get to reap the rewards? Again, this is not an endorsement to live carelessly and imprudently.

I observed others do the same and then they suddenly died or life through them a huge curve ball and they missed opportunities.

But Mike don’t we have responsibilities and need the 9-5? Yes, most people, have to work to earn a living to pay for the essentials: shelter, food, clothes and transportation Okay, even the rich folks, at least most of them work to earn their money. And no matter what economic status you are, what level socioeconomic stream you're in, most people would agree you need money.

But the fact is you need to be self-sufficient, you need to take care of yourself and your family. But all said and done you should put somewhere in your wish or goal book to do ABC and XYZ before you leave this earth, sooner than later, if possible. Not all things are possible. It may take a while to save up for something or invest in something and take action before the end of the world.

Let me clarify and not get religious or paranoid on you. I'm not suggesting that we are all going to die in an apocalypse, natural or zombie. What I am saying is we are all going to meet the end of our world at some point. This isn't meant to be a downer. It's meant to be an encourager and an incentive to get off the butt and take whatever necessary actions so you can do ABC XYZ, whatever that is.

I don't want to pigeonhole what's on your bucket list. So, it's important that you set aside some time for who you are or what you want to do. I remember my mother telling me years ago she's since passed now six years. She called me aside, said “Mike, you're always doing stuff for everybody else when are you going to think about yourself. Do something for yourself. Buy you some new shoes, go see a movie, do something for yourself, buy some nice jacket or something.”

What my mother was saying is true, no intention of being selfish and uncharitable. I've seen it with my wife. I've seen it with friends and acquaintances along the years where it's always someone else at the top of the list and nowhere are they in even the top 10.

This is about prioritizing you somewhere in the mix, where you're important too. I know I'm stating the obvious, but you'd be surprised how many people miss this obvious misstep disguised as kind and generous. We get so wound up in taking care of the family, which you should do.

Please come back for Part 2 of this series.